Twitter was “Without God”

One of the trending Topics, for a short time, was “Without God“, where people tweeted about their thoughts of a world without god. For an atheist, this should have read “Without Gods” because there are much more gods people believe in than just one.

But anyway, reading about peoples thoughts was mostly fun, sometimes enlightening and sometimes downright creepy, because many people wrote, that they are nothing without God or that they would be lost.

I cannot imagine how insecure someone must feel to say such a thing or how someone draws self-confidence from bronze age myths to overcome this insecurity.
Maybe that’s a Bible thing.

2 Responses to Twitter was “Without God”

  1. Doug says:

    I think this book has some good insight for the difference between theism and atheism. “When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times”

    It boils down to theism is the belief that there is a babysitter to hold your hand when things go wrong, while atheism is the ability to deal with it on your own. After reading that book, I see this very often in the people around me now.

    • Thanks for the book recommendation. I have not yet read a book that is written from the buddhist point of view, but it sounds interesting. I have put it on my “Books to get for the Summer”-List.

